Texas imposes a franchise tax, also known as the margins tax, on taxable entities organized in Texas or doing business in Texas. If your company does not file its Franchise Tax Report and pay any applicable taxes it will no longer be in good standing, and you may be held personally liable for the obligations of your business. Be sure to discuss this matter with your CPA.
The business franchise tax has been frequently criticized. Not only has the tax has raised less money than initially anticipated, but, in some cases, businesses have had to pay the tax even in years when they did not make a profit. Texas lawmakers are expected to propose various revisions to the franchise tax during 2015.
Here is some important information about the Texas franchise tax.
- Applies to Taxable Entities. The franchise tax applies to Texas entities and non-Texas entities doing business in Texas, such as LLC’s, corporations, partnerships, business trusts, professional associations, business associations and joint ventures. Non-profit entities are subject to the Texas franchise tax unless they obtain an exemption from the Texas Comptroller’s Office. Generally, sole proprietorships are not subject to the franchise tax.
- No Tax Due Report. All taxable entities must file a franchise tax report. Those businesses whose total revenue is below the no-tax-due threshold qualify to file a No Tax Due Report. For reports due for 2014, the no-tax-due threshold is $1,080,000. The report includes the business’s total revenue as well as the names and addresses of all its officers, directors and members.
- May 15 Deadline. A taxable entity’s initial report is due one year and 90 days after registration with the Texas Secretary of State’s Office or, in the case of non-Texas taxable entities, after the date the entity began doing business in Texas. Thereafter, the annual report is due each year by May 15.
- Amount Due. The franchise tax base is based on various calculations. The franchise tax rate for most businesses is approximately 1%. Businesses engaged primarily in retail or wholesale may qualify to use a lower rate of approximately 0.5%.
For more information, please contact Kathy Tremmel at Tremmel Law, PLLC at (512) 539-0317 or firstname.lastname@example.org.